Cricket World Cup 2011

Bangladesh Wins Toss, Puts India to Bat

Posted On : 2011-02-19 23:37:37( TIMEZONE : IST )

Bangladesh Wins Toss, Puts India to Bat

The Cricket World Cup 2011 was kick-started today with India Playing Bangladesh in the first match of the tournament. The match is being played at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.

Bangladesh won the toss and put India into bat. The crowd roared the moment Bangladesh won the toss and there was deafening noise in the stadium. The Bangladesh Captain Shakib Al Hasan said that he didn't want his bowlers to bowl second due to the dew factor. Indian Captain M S Dhoni also said that he would have fielded first had he won the toss.

India is playing with 3 seamers and 1 spinner with Suresh Raina, Piyush Chawla, Ashwin and Ashish Nehra being rested. It was a surprise decision by India to include only 1 spinner, with spinners like Piyush Chawla and Ashwin bowling well in the practice matches. But, Dhoni has part time spin bowlders like Sehwag, Pathan, Yuvraj and Sachin at his disposal.

The Teams are,

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam, Rubel Hossain.

India: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (Captain & wk), Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Munaf Patel.

Source :